Barrowcroft Green Street Scene Barrowcroft Green Street Scene

Stamp Duty

Stamp Duty, also known as Stamp Duty Land Tax (SDLT), is a charge that applies when purchasing a residential property in the UK.

The charge applies regardless of whether the property is new or second hand, and the amount you pay depends on the purchase price. Stamp Duty also applies to both freehold and leasehold properties and whether you are using a mortgage or buying with cash.

Current Stamp Duty rates (England & Northern Ireland)
Purchase Price Rate on main residence Rate for additional properties (2)
Up to £250,000 (£425,000 for first-time buyers (1)  0% 3%
£250,001 – £925,000 5% 8%
£925,001 – £1,500,000 10% 13%
£1,500,001 + 12% 15%

(1) If you are a first-time buyer purchasing a property costing more than £625,000 you can not claim the relief and the stamp duty thresholds for people who have brought a home before apply. 

(2) If you are purchasing a buy-to-let property or a second home (that is not a replacement for your main residence) that costs more than £40,000, you will need to pay the additional 3% Stamp Duty surcharge.

Stamp Duty in Wales

In Wales, Stamp Duty is referred to as the Land Transaction Tax (LTT) and applies to home purchases of more than £180,000. You can see a full breakdown of how Land Transaction Tax is charged in Wales on the Government website here.

Stamp Duty in Scotland

In Scotland, Stamp Duty is referred to as the Land and Buildings Transaction Tax (LBTT) and is charged when you buy a home of more than £145,000, or £175,000 if you are a first-time buyer. You can see a full breakdown of how Land and Buildings Transaction Tax is charged on the Government website here.